Insanity

I am struggling to think of what to call this post and how to start…let’s start with yesterday…

Tuesday: 5 miles @ 8:53 pace
Splits: 8:48, 8:34, 9:03, 9:26, 8:34

Really happy with this run! My goal was to push the pace and come in around 9:00 pace or just under if possible…and it turns out it is possible! I did stop and stretch briefly at each mile due to being very conscious that I am only just recovering from injury, but I am pleased with the splits. No pain…yay!

Wednesday: INSANITY

20130227-212813.jpg

I’m trying not to run on consecutive days in order to keep pain at bay, so today I figured it was time to investigate the hype that is Insanity. Haven’t heard of it? It’s some crazy DVD series which promises you a bikini body after 60 days. I have no intention of following the full programme – I have enough on my plate with the marathon just 7 weeks away, but I thought it might provide some inspiration. I borrowed it from a work colleague so I’ll make my way through the disc set and let you know what I think.

Today, I just did the fit test. I think the idea is that you do the fit test every week or so and compare your results to previous weeks so that you can easily see how you’ve improved. The test involved seeing how many reps of a particular exercise you can do in one minutes. The moves are variations of familiar moves such as squats, planks and jumps. I found the fit test HARD so I think the actual workouts are going to be interesting… I’ll keep you posted!

A lovely surprise

Don’t you just love it when someone goes out of their way to do something sweet for you? It can be the smallest thing but it can make your day!

Today, I returned to my desk slightly zoned-out after delivering a 90 minute presentation and found this on my keyboard:

20130227-213336.jpg

One of my colleagues is currently unable to run due to her shin splints and though I could make use of her Women’s Running subscription…how thoughtful and sweet of her!? I have a Vogue subscription but I never buy running magazines…I cannot wait to settle in for the evening with a cup of tea and take a look. In fact, that’s what I’m going to do right now.

Have a lovely evening.

Jx

2 thoughts on “Insanity

  1. I’ve done 2 weeks of the insanity program. My husband and his friend just started it yesterday, too. I love Insanity. I want to do the whole program but am not going to do that until after my marathon in May.

Leave a Reply

