Sixteen

Hi everyone!

I hope you all had a great weekend. I also hope you managed to avoid stepping in someone else’s poo in the gym shower. Yep, I’m still scarred by my experience.

I had such a lovely weekend for lots of reasons, but I’ll start with the running stuff seeing as that is the whole point of my blog.

Saturday: 16 miles at 10:36 pace
(I won’t bore you with my splits..there are too many!!)

Hooorraaayyyy! I ran LONG without struggling with my IT band pain.

I left the house around 8:30 and plodded round for nearly 3 hours in the snow. Thankfully, it wasn’t settling on the ground and it wasn’t wet either. It was just pretty, light, polystyrene-ball-type-snow. It got slightly warmer as the morning went on, but not by much.

20130225-130425.jpg

One of my goals for this session was to keep a slow pace. Long slow runs are meant to be 60-90 seconds slower than goal pace, but I have always found this really difficult. My average pace of 10:36 felt very slow and yet manageable…I finished feeling strong and up for pressing on. However, I resisted the urge to go further as I had somewhere to be in the afternoon.

My other goal was to remain pain free or at least to manage the pain. I was very nervous during the first 4 miles, particularly on every incline. I made a conscious effort to mid foot strike instead of relying on my natural heel strike to get me down each hill. This feels completely unnatural but it stopped me from experiencing any pain. The flat and uphill sections were great and comfortable.

Mentally, I was in the right zone on Saturday. I don’t know how to recreate this for race day, but I felt good and really enjoyed the run. I brought my music with me but never had the urge to listen to it, preferring instead to take in the surroundings and get lost in my own thoughts. I tried to listen to my body and adjust my pace accordingly, and spent time analysing each mile and thinking abut the future including my training and the marathon itself.

20130225-131639.jpg

After the run, Danny and I headed to Twickenham to watch the England v France rugby match. It was the first big rugby game I’ve been to and was so much fun. Freezing, but fun! The 0.8 mile walk from the train to the stadium was exactly what I needed to stretch my tired legs out.

20130225-131846.jpg

20130225-131912.jpg

Sunday

Sunday was spent helping out at Kids Church before heading up to Cambridge to spend time with Dan’s brother and wife. We had a lovey time catching up and went out for an AMAZING dinner at a new restaurant called CAU. It’s an Argentinian steak place and I cannot recommend it enough. The food was all really really good..there was nothing that didn’t impress us! The waiter was friendly and helpful and it is not badly priced. It has only been open for four weeks so there were a few minor hiccups but nothing that affected our enjoyment of it all. I had salt and pepper squid to start:

20130225-132440.jpg

8oz sirloin with chunky chips, Causlaw, and blue cheese sauce for my main:

20130225-132543.jpg

Ad then some delicious banana ice cream for dessert. I wolfed it down so there is no evidence of this! Dan also had an unbelievable cornflake ice cream caramel brownie sundae…..SO ridiculous…SO SO GOOD! I think I have found myself a good lunch venue for the Cambridge half marathon in 2 weeks time!!

My lunch break is over so I’d better get back to my desk…

Jx

5 thoughts on “Sixteen

  1. ooooh 16!!! Very nice 😀
    I *NEED* to do the long runs 60-90sec slower thing. I haven’t been able to do it mentally yet (why’s that all of a sudden so hard??) I find it impossible to run like that on the treadmill, since it’s boring enough..so it’s my goal for the next outdoor long run!

Leave a Reply

