Back In Action

Hello blogging world! I feel I have neglected you…

Where have I been? Well…

A few weeks ago the hubs and I had a media-free week. I have to say…it was great! No TV, no films, no facebook, no blog reading, no tweets, no random pointless web browsing. We TALKED and I RAN and the pace of life felt that little bit SLOWER. I recommend it!

Last week was our holiday in the beautiful Scottish Highlands. We stayed in a gorgeous cottage with friends and enjoyed reading, walking and relaxing by the fire. The long winding roads were perfect for running and the scenery was incredible.

20130130-213247.jpg

20130130-213327.jpg

Huge snow covered mountains on each side make for a great running landscape…much more inspiring than the busy north London roads! These pictures don’t do it justice at all…when the sun came out, it was stunning.

I managed the following runs during the holiday:

6 miles @ 9:53 pace

2 miles @ 8:43 pace

8 miles @ 9:30 pace

We got back late on Saturday and I forced myself out of bed early on Sunday to crack on with my long-run. I had 15 miles in the diary but I ran out of time (wanted to get to church) so cut it short:

14 miles @ 10:03 pace

Splits: 10:07; 10:10; 10:05; 10:11; 9: 36; 9:45; 9:45; 10:14; 10:07; 9:40; 10:40; 10:07; 9:52; 10:19.

I struggled quite a bit and kept stopping to text my friend (welcome distraction!!) and stretch my legs. My left knee has been playing up – it happened after the half marathon and starting bugging me again in Scotland last week. I suspect the hills and the increased mileage are bothering my IT band…I’m going to see the physio…fingers crossed it will not play havoc with my training plan..but to play it safe, I’ve taken it easy so far this week, with the following VERY gentle treadmill sessions. No idea about pace:

Monday: 4 miles

Tuesday: 1 k (!!!)

Wednesday: 1 mile (ahhh bless my poor little knee).

21 again!!! (age not mileage)

In other news, it was my birthday on Monday, yay! I am fortunate enough to work for a great company that gives everyone their birthday off for free, so I spent it catching up on post-holiday stuff and meeting my Mum for drinks before having Thai with Danny. I was totally spoilt and got some great pressies include fab running stuff! I got a Nike running hat (it’s wicky material – should keep me cool when it’s warm and stop me squinting / looking ten years older). I also got a running water bottle. I never run with water but now that I’m over half marathon distance I know I need to train with it, so the gift was much appreciated.

I’ll be back as soon as I’ve had this knobbly knee looked at! 2 weeks to go until the next half marathon….eeeeekkk!

Jx

5 thoughts on “Back In Action

Leave a Reply

