Bananas In Pyjamas…

…are coming down the stairs. Bananas in pyjamas are coming down in pairs.

Yes I have this song stuck in my head! If you have no idea what I’m talking about and you want to spend 28 seconds of your life investigating it – check it out on this YouTube clip.

The reason for the song? This weekend I did something that I NEVER do. I baked banana bread. I don’t bake. Ever. I had to go to Waitrose to buy a baking tin…and by tin, I mean a lovely red silicon loaf pan as you can see on the left hand side of this pic:

Baking + bubbles = domestic bliss!
Baking + bubbles = domestic bliss!

And yes…I may have had a glass of bubbly whilst baking…I’m totally getting in the celebratory Christmas spirit!

I spent some time Googling recipes for banana bread / cake and decided to try the following one from Sophie Dahl. The batteries died on my scales so I needed a recipe with measurements in cups (this one has cups and grams) and without too many ingredients because I didn’t want to buy anything – the plan was to use up my over-ripe bananas using whatever I could find in the cupboard. I don’t have a cake mixer so it also had to be one that could be mixed by hand.

Banana Bread Recipe

As you can see, it is pretty simple! After exactly an hour in the oven, I removed the loaf and left it to cool on the side before popping it on a plate for slicing and serving.

banana bread

I must admit that I am thrilled with the result! The only thing I have EVER baked before now is cookies, so I expected this to flop…but it is delicious. It passed the hungry husband test too..whoooop whoooop!

I served the cake with butter (naughty but nice) but I’m sure it would be equally delicious on its own as the loaf is nice and moist without being stodgy.

Earl Grey and Banana Bread. Get some of this in your life!
Earl Grey and Banana Bread. Get some of this in your life!

Alternatively you could make some chocolate icing (you could…I wouldn’t know where to start!?) and ice the loaf. This is what my Mum does and it’s AMAZING. Or, you could add some water to icing sugar and drizzle it over the top of the loaf. Yum yum yum.

A training/running related post will follow later!

Jx

3 thoughts on “Bananas In Pyjamas…

  1. jeksca

    I love banana bread! I’ll have to give that recipe a try. I have gotten good and buying just the right amount of bananas so I can eat them before they go bad. I’ll add a few extra to the cart next week!

Leave a Reply

