Weekend Training

Did everyone have a lovely weekend?

Saturday

Mine started delicately. I woke up on Saturday morning, the morning after our Christmas party, feeling slightly worse for wear. However, I had a running date in the diary so I had to haul my butt out of bed and man up! Several glasses of water and a cup of tea later and I was dressed and ready to go – or so it would appear to a casual observer.

My friend turned up full of her usual enthusiasm. I love running with her as she always pushes the pace and distracts me with interesting conversation. Sadly…that was not enough for me on Saturday! The first few miles were manageable but I quickly started to fall apart, stopping to breathe, compose myself and walk regularly. I rarely walk during a session….bad times!! I hate being the person slowing people down and acting like a baby during a run…which is probably why I usually run alone. Big apologies to my friend and thank you for your patience!

On the plus side, we had a great catch up and enjoyed the bright, mild London weather.

Saturday Workout: 8.19 miles @ 10:33 pace.
Splits of 9:35; 9:27; 9:57; 12:24; 11:11; 9:57; 11:20; 10:43; 1:53. So painful…but worth it.

The rest of Saturday was lovely. The gymnastics World Cup was on the TV so DP and I watched it with a big salad each. Yep…I got my vegetable-phobic husband to eat salad AND watch my favourite sport AND enjoy it. Yeah baby!!

20121216-215028.jpg

Saturday evening was a fun filled dinner with two of our fave people. It was one of those very relaxed and entertaining nights where we laughed until it hurt. Love that! I made homemade guacamole and salsa, followed by chilli con carne, one of my favourite meals to have with friends. After dinner we played Articulate and Logo….board games are always entertaining, especially when you get a number of highly competitive peeps together. Generally speaking I don’t have a competitive bone in my body, but when it comes to board games, I’m a different (rather irritating) person! 🙂

20121216-215520.jpg

Sunday

We were in need of some greasy food on Sunday morning. A homemade bacon and egg bap did the trick:

20121216-215701.jpg

A less tragic run was called for so I popped out for a nice, enjoyable lunchtime run. I must confess that I avoided the main road because I knew a bunch of people from church would be out singing carols and I can’t stand seeing people I know when I’m running. Or rather I can’t stand people I know seeing me. Last week the man that runs our local sweet shop mentioned that he’d seen me out running, much to my delight horror.

God, it seems, has a sense of humour. I almost literally bumped into the church pastor and his family along my chosen route. Ahhh. Looking tragic in my Nike tempos and totally uncoordinated haven’t done the laundry running tops, all I could think of to say was “I’m so embarrassed“. Great. Nice one Jodie.

Sunday Workout: 5 miles @ 9:30 pace
Splits: 9:12; 9:32; 9:16; 9:47; 9:43

The run itself was good, especially compared to Saturday. I didn’t have a run scheduled at all so it was nice to go out simply because I felt like it.

This coming week

I only have five days left of work for the year…it feels like a race to the finish now! Aiming for a ten miler this weekend but no other plans. Oh and I haven’t bought any Christmas presents for hubs so better put that on the to-do list.

Once this week is over, I’ll officially be starting my marathon training schedule. Very excited about this next phase!

Jx

7 thoughts on “Weekend Training

Leave a Reply

