No Running, Just Partying

Hiya! Hope everyone is having a wonderful weekend!

Mine has been so much fun…I’ll tell you all about it tomorrow, but in the meantime I thought it would be good to show you what I got up to on Friday night at my work Christmas partaaaay!

It was a black tie event so I opted to go for this black Karen Millen dress with peep toe shoes from Coast. I’ll show you from the back, as all the detail is there:

20121216-120140.jpg

I ended up going for straight hair, half up half down. The wind and rain was horrendous all day and I didn’t trust the chignon to hold:

20121216-120312.jpg

My secret Santa eyeliner came in very handy. I assumed it was a regular liquid liner, which is what I usually use, but it was one of those felt-tip pen liners. I’ve never tried one of these; I’ve always been sceptical about them, but it was brilliant. Very easy to use and precise. It’s official, I’m a convert to Soap & Glory Supercat, pictured here with my other Supercat:

20121216-120634.jpg

Hubs and I decided to have a pre-party date at The Mayfair Bar. It was very busy but thankfully a lovely couple gave us their reserved table so we managed to enjoy a few mojitos whilst catching up at a great table instead of constantly being pushed as people worked their way around the bar. Phew. The mojitos are generally great….although on our second round we were served by a child newer staff member who must have forgotten to add sugar water because it tasted disgusting and bitter. They quickly fixed the problem so no harm done.

20121216-121246.jpg

The party was at a stunning London landmark – the Natural History Museum in South Kensington. The company had gone all out to impress with real life reindeer, complimentary drinks, canapΓ©s and bowl food, a live band and other random entertainment like a human snow globe?!

20121216-121507.jpg

The surprise entertainment was a set by this season’s X Factor finalist, Rylan. Well, I’m pretty sure most people in the room were speechless (probably not in a good way) but it was entertaining! He was not my cup of tea during the TV show; it always irritates me when great singers miss out but ‘entertaining’ singers like Rylan stay in….but I was pretty impressed on Saturday! Either I was drunk or he can actually sing! Or more likely, a combination of the two. It was fun and festive; he didn’t disappoint, so no complaints from me.

20121216-122027.jpg

Phone camera fail…this was meant to be Rylan

All in all it was a good party and I’m glad that DP finally got to meet my colleagues and some of their other halves. I think the only problem is that there were over 1000 people there so it’s hard to find and catch up with all the people you want to see. Also, the staff were very attentive, topping up wine and champagne glasses freely…I know many people would see this as a positive but I end up forgetting to count glasses, drinking more than I normally would and subsequently falling asleep in the back of a colleague’s car on the way home. Classy. As far as I’m aware I did not break any of The Rules, whoo hooooo! Don’t know what I’m talking about? See yesterday’s post. πŸ™‚

I had a running date on Saturday morning…but that’s another story which I will save for later. Until then, enjoy the rest of you weekend!

Jx

8 thoughts on “No Running, Just Partying

Leave a Reply

