Nailed it

I am happy happy happy!

Today’s training session (carried over from yesterday…I wasn’t feeling it at all) was 3 miles HARD.

5k @ 8:42 pace, YAY!!!!

I did it, I ran on the treadmill at a sub 9-minute mile pace without giving up or falling off. This never happens!

20121207-170616.jpg

I was absolutely dreading every second of it. Hard is not good. Hard is (obviously) not easy. Hard is painful. It does not interest me in the slightest – I like enjoyable runs that probably keep me from improving. But I have a marathon to think about and a half marathon time that I want to beat…so 3 miles hard it was. Actually, 5k because the silly treadmill does not understand miles.

20121207-170458.jpg

I had a good stretch after the run and noticed a girl stretching next to me with amazing hair. In fact, it had been perfectly blow dried and styled and I’m sure she had a full face of makeup…she looked like she was heading to the club, not the gym. I’m all for making and effort with my appearance….but not when it comes to sweating!

I know I shouldn’t feel like this…but it made me feel so hideous with my hair scraped back, my bare face and dodgy outfit. I was wearing one of DP’s running tops and some teeny weeny shorts over a pair of Topshop leggings because I’m behind on laundry. It was not a good look!! I shouldn’t care and I shouldn’t compare myself to others, but I am occasionally guilty of doing so. Bad Jodie.

Back to the happy place…I had this afternoon off work and I managed to do loads of chores and personal admin, it was such a productive day, yay! Now all I need is for hubs to come home so we can start our weekend. Perfect.

Jx

7 thoughts on “Nailed it

  1. Sarah @ pickyrunner

    Congratulations! That is an awesome achievement! I’m working on similar things with sub-8 training. Tough stuff!!

  2. Well done hun! So proud of you for the amount of commitment and effort you are investing in your training! Cheering you on… from the sofa with my swollen foot undergoing regular RICE! :S

Leave a Reply

