No Workout Wednesday

Admittedly not the most inspiring title, but I want to be honest!

Wednesday was my first day back in the office and I wanted to start the morning with a run. I got up early and headed to the gym but the traffic was terrible. By the time I made it across London I only had time to have a shower and get ready for work. Workout fail…grrrr. Of course, I could have redeemed myself in the evening but the jet lag means I have no energy and I keep falling asleep at stupidly-early-o’clock. excuses excuses, let’s make today a better workout day!

Clearly I wasn’t the only one having a lazy Wednesday:

20121129-050934.jpg

I’ve been feeling pretty unmotivated this month…perhaps because I quickly realised my Pile On The Miles challenge would be pretty much impossible with all the travelling and therefore I’ve taken it a little too easy. I often struggle for motivation after a race and I find the best thing to do is to get another race in the diary. I keep thinking ‘ooohhh I have months to go before the marathon, I can take it easy’, but I’ve just counted and I have just 11 weeks of training left before the Brighton Half Marathon, so if I want that sub 2 hour half I need to get my backside in gear and work! Starting today! I will go for a run outside and I will go to the gym and I will report back. No excuses.

Ok enough of my ramblings, here are some pictures from the rehearsal dinner in Michigan on Friday night:

20121129-051708.jpg

My beautiful cousins-in-law and mother in law. Love ’em! Oh and that’s me, dress from French Connection.

20121129-051924.jpg

20121129-051946.jpg

The bride looked stunning in this beautiful vintage dress

20121129-052054.jpg

The bride and groom to be

The Wedding

This was a truly beautiful wedding…the bride has great taste and had gone for a vintage Parisian theme for the reception. My wedding theme was oh my goodness I have 4 months to organise a wedding…help!

20121129-052424.jpg

20121129-052435.jpg

20121129-052451.jpg

20121129-052506.jpg

The evening reception was so much fun…we were dancing until the lights came on…and when I say ‘dancing’….well, let’s hope no one videoed some of the crazy moves that we invented. My friend’s ‘interpretative’ dance to Katy Perry’s Firework was hysterical and inspired some equally unusual moves from me and others. I also enjoyed the Cupid Shuffle (which we had never heard before and thought was called the cubic or cuban shuffle, but youtube says no), gotta love a group dance at a wedding!

The bride and groom were so much fun and partied late into the night. There were lots of traditional dances, which you don’t get at UK weddings. Here, the only guaranteed dance is the bride and groom’s first dance, but in the US the groom dances with his mother and the bride with her father. They had all rehearsed there moves to mix it up and keep it fun. They also did this thing called a dollar dance where people had to pay each of the bride and groom for a dance and it was a competition to see who could make the most money. Fun!! I loved the combination of UK and US traditions throughout the day.

Time for work…I will report back on today’s workout! Have a great day

Jx

5 thoughts on “No Workout Wednesday

  1. Sarah @ pickyrunner

    Sometimes you just need a day off from exercise. At first you might feel guilty, but it’s necessary every so often. Also, LOVE your dress 🙂 Looks like you had a great time at the wedding!

  2. Why is it that i feel SO unmotivated after a race too??

    beautiful pictures – I love checking out wedding dresses, the bride looks gorgeous!
    You look so pretty, that striped number is beautiful!

  3. I’ve been so unmotivated the last couple of weeks too.

    What a beautiful bride! I love weddings that combine great details with a good time. Both of your dresses were lovely as well!

Leave a Reply

