Arial Dance

I want to say a big THANK YOU to the friend that forced me to get out of bed this morning and go for a run. Ok, she didn’t force me, but she did remind me about the 1200+ calorie cheesecake and I knew I had to take action!

I was in a rush so only had time for a twenty minute treadmill session. I warmed up and then did a mile of speed work ranging from 10:00 to 7:30 pace. 7:30 is FAST for me. The fact that people run sub 7:30 marathons is incomprehensible!

Anyway, last night, I went to an arial dance class with a colleague. What a fun and different way to work out!

20121116-141218.jpg

20121116-141231.jpg

20121116-141244.jpg

20121116-141255.jpg

20121116-141329.jpg

20121116-141346.jpg

I didn’t get to try it but it looked tough – lots of upper body and core strength required. In case you weren’t aware, I have no upper body and no core.

I was thrilled to spend an hour in the gym watching the class but also watching all the young gymnasts who were taking a separate class, training on the beam and floor. A couple of them were really good and it made me want to be 12 again, where my biggest worry was whether I’d get selected for the squad and whether I’d land my backflip properly in my new routine. Fuuuun!

Food today…another great salad. Grilled chicken (hot!) with Italian dressing on the side. I’ve said it before but I’m amazed with all the choice here.

Lunch is over…back to work. It’s my LAST DAY IN TEXAS!!!

Jx

3 thoughts on “Arial Dance

  1. whoa! That class looks so cool!
    I could never ever handle doing something like that- don’t have the strength,but I’d love to watch a session!

    Oh and, the zip dress of mine was like 30 dollars off a store called Dynamite! I’m not sure if that’s just a Canadian chain though!

  2. Kal

    Those pics are fab – I cannot imagine hanging upside down like that! On the cheesecake issue I tucked into 2 portions of Victoria sponge last night with fresh cream so I need to take my own advice – It just wasn’t worth the guilt trip afterwards!! Great running session at that pace Jodie – nothing beats that feeling of being on a high after a good workout 🙂

Leave a Reply

