Richard Branson Says I’m Perfect

Let me be honest with you. Richard Branson didn’t exactly say I was perfect, but some fancy new machine thing that I found in a Virgin Active gym said it, so that’s pretty much the same thing right?

20121101-173423.jpg

In in the interests of transparency, I will admit that the actual phrase was something like ‘you are the perfect D shape. And to put it into context, I’d just finished a workout and spotted a machine that I’d never seen before, it looked like a fancy scale. The instructions told me to take off my shoes and socks, hop on and expect some electrical impulses to whizz through my (perfect D shaped) body so that it could tell me stuff that I don’t already know.

I am not really sure to make of the info that I received. I am in the ‘normal’ range for everything that it measured I.e. BMI, weight, fat percentage. I have more muscle that is ‘normal’. I nearly fell off the machine when I saw that because I have NO muscles and I don’t lift weights…I can’t even do one press up.

I was also confused by this D comment. I wondered if it was saying I looked like the letter D, which is hardly a compliment!! Not sure which letter I would prefer though…S
maybe? or B? Having read more about this the D does actually sound like a good thing:

20121101-173720.jpg

I was a bit disappointed with my body fat percentage…it was in the healthy section but it did not sound great. It has reminded me that I need to consider what I’m putting into my body! All of that said though I want to be really clear that I know I’m not perfect, but I’m happy with what God has given me and I believe that we should all look after what we have been given. I’m never going to be curvy, nor am I going to be a supermodel. I’m OK with this!

Right, on the topic of sensible eating, I whipped up a great salad for lunch that I thought I’d share (not literally, although there is some in the fridge if you like?). I think I got the recipe from Delicious online, it was called something like warm potato salad with smoked salmon and caperberries. And that is pretty much all there is to it! You chuck together some leaves, smoked salmon, capers (drain them and rinse them, otherwise they are too salty and overpowering), cherry tomatoes, and then make a dressing with olive oil, a chopped shallot, whole grain Dijon mustard and white wine vinegar. Boil some baby new potatoes, chuck them in the salad, dress, eat and enjoy! I made a big bowl so I can have some for lunch tomorrow.

20121101-174655.jpg

Yum. Seriously.

20121101-174744.jpg

In other news…today is 1st November and therefore the start of the Pile on the Miles challenge. I have set myself the task of running 100 miles in the month of November. Given that I will be out of the country for 2.5 weeks this may not have been a realistic target…but as long as I have my running shoes, there is really no excuse.

So….Day 1: 3.1 miles at a relaxed 10:18 pace on the treadmill.

I had to take it easy…this is my first post-half-marathon workout and my calves were screaming by the end. It felt good to do it though.

After the gym, I popped to the shop to get some ‘essentials’ which ended up including this teeny tiny bottle of wine, LOVE IT.

20121101-175511.jpg

I HATE mini bottle because I ALWAYS WANT MORE. But I LOVE them for the same reason. Make sense of that one…

So…I would LOVE to know..do you drink, and if you do, do you quit when you’re training / before you race?

Jx

8 thoughts on “Richard Branson Says I’m Perfect

  1. All things are healthy and normal – fantassstic πŸ™‚
    I love the bolded part about not being perfect!
    I have ALWAYS wanted to get an accurate body-fat percentage test done on me. I’m just really curious on where I am.

    I love your 100miles goal for this month!

    I very rarely drink actually because I really do not enjoy the taste of alcohol! I think my friends have made me try every single thing out there, but nothing has clicked!

Leave a Reply

