Test-driving the Garmin

Had a lovely weekend which I’ll try and blog about later…but in brief it involved…girlie dinner and drinks, shopping, cinema and a sucessful long run.

SO…thought I’d prepare for this morning’s run with a nutritious Saturday night dinner:

A lot of bloggers upload pictures of salad, protein, and brown mush…
I’m keeping it real with Alphabetti-Spaghetti and wine. Living the highlife baby!

I got up nice and early and had breakfast whilst watching a tv show about Bradley Wiggins and his cycling team. That is one TOUGH sport. No thank you! Strapped on my beautiful new toy and headed out for an 11 miler…my longest run since March.

I usually plan my runs in detail using Google Maps, through the Runner’s Log iPad app. Well, thanks to iOS6, that little routine was a no-go today. I must have been underground for the last week – I didn’t realise that the new apple maps were so useless and that I needed to avoid updating my software in order to continue with G-maps.

The Garmin arrival was perfectly timed in that respect. It was really liberating running without knowing exactly where I was going. I ran through one of my favourite areas of London, plus some that I will not be returning to any time soon…!

The watch was great. I beeped after every mile, telling me how long that mile had taken. I found this more useful than looking at the pacing screen which went up and down a little too much. The average pace for the mile seemed to be enough to reassure me that I was going at the right pace, or warn me when things were not going too well. It was really easy to use and very light. I have tiny wrists but it wasn’t too big / bulky and I didn’t have to have it on the tightest setting or get any extra holes punched in.

I logged on to the garmin website thingy and checked out my mile splits, which were:

9:48; 9:59; 9:41; 10:50; 9:40; 9:37; 10:22; 10:41; 9:54: 9:37; 9:26 (total 11m at 9:58 pace). I think the slow ones were all uphill. Need to work on that.

It also showed a map (in Googlemaps!!) and some other bits. All in all, v happy with it so far. I’m not teccy so I love how simple it is to use and how easy it is to view the run online afterwards.

After the run, DP and I headed to church and then treated ourselves to a Sunday roast at this new pub round the corner. I had pork belly (the second time I’ve had pork belly this weekend, oops) which was really good.

pork belly # 2

Right…need to go and sort my life out and plan some slightly healthier meals for the week ahead.

Jx

Leave a Reply

